Unpublishing content items

When you publish a content item in Kentico Cloud, it's automatically available online via the Delivery API. You cannot edit the published content item because it may be used in multiple parts of your website or mobile app.

After publishing, you can either unpublish the content item or create a new version of it.

When you unpublish content items, they will no longer be publicly available.

Table of contents

    Unpublishing a content item

    To unpublish a single content item:

    1. From the app menu, choose Content & Assets {@icon-content-and-assets@}.
    2. Click a published content item to open it.
    3. On the Details tab, click Unpublish.

    A screenshot of the Unpublish button.

    The system switches the workflow step of the content item to its initial workflow state (which is usually Draft). Public access to this content item is now disabled.

    Unpublishing multiple content items

    To unpublish two or more content items at once:

    1. From the app menu, choose Content & Assets {@icon-content-and-assets@}.
    2. Select the content items you want to unpublish.
    3. Click More actions {@icon-more-actions@}.
    4. Choose Unpublish.

    If you want to update a content item while keeping its current version published, see Creating new versions of content items.